Select Page

Upcoming presentations

The Legal Genealogist has a busy schedule coming up.

And I absolutely want to invite you along, to the extent possible, on the trip…

Here’s an overview of what’s coming up in March, and we’ll go ahead and take a peek at April.

Calendar for March & April

March 2022

Thursday, 3 March, 7 p.m. CST /8 p.m. EST: The Town and Country Public Library (Elburn, Illinois) is hosting the virtual presentation “Don’t Forget the Ladies” – A Genealogist’s Guide to Women and the Law. Use this link for more information.

Saturday, 5 March, 10 a.m. CST / 11 a.m. EST: The Northland (Missouri) Genealogy Society is hosting the virtual presentation The Discriminating Genealogist: Telling Good Evidence from Bad. Get more info here.

Saturday, 19 March, 10 a.m. EDT: The Chester County (Pennsylvania) History Center is hosting the virtual presentation Don’t Forget the Ladies” – A Genealogist’s Guide to Women and the Law. The event page on website has more information and a link to register.

Saturday, 19 March: The Family History Society of Arizona is hosting its all-day 2022 Genealogical Seminar and Annual Meeting. There are four speakers, including Brian Rhinehart, Annette Burke Lyttle, and Cari Taplin. My segment, the virtual presentation Doing Time-Prison Records as Genealogy Resources, is slated for 12:30 p.m. PDT / 3:30 p.m. EDT. Get more information and register here.

Wednesday, 23 March, 7 p.m. EDT (Thursday, 24 March, 9 a.m. AET): The Family History Academy, based in Australia but creating courses for genealogists throughout the English-speaking world, is offering my two-hour virtual workshop From Source to Proof: The Genealogical Proof Process and the Law. Fair warning: examples won’t all be from one country! Check out this link for more information.

Thursday, 24 March, 7 p.m. EDT: The Schenectady County (New York) Historical Society is hosting the virtual presentation Finding the Law–Tips for Genealogists. Get more info here.

Monday, 28 March, 7 p.m. EDT: The New Bern-Craven County (NC) Public Library is hosting the virtual presentation From 1619 to Juneteenth–Slavery & Law before Civ War. Register by emailing [email protected].

April 2022

Friday, 1 April, 10 a.m. EDT (3 p.m. BST): The Genealogy Show Spring Event is hosting the virtual presentation Copyrights and Copywrongs: The Law for Genealogists, with a live Q&A session to follow, as one of the lead-off day’s sessions in this multi-day, multi-speaker event. Buy your ticketsonline at The Genealogy Show website.

Saturday, 2 April, 10 a.m. PDT/1 p.m. EDT: The Southern California Genealogical Society is hosting the virtual presentation From the Archives to the Money Pits: Early California Laws. Register for the webinar here.

Friday, 8 April, 1 p.m. EDT: Legacy Family Tree Webinars is hosting its third annual genealogy webinar marathon on April 7-8, and my presentation Doing Time – Prison Records as Genealogy Resources is slated for Friday the 8th at 1 p.m. EDT. Registration for the marathon will open tomorrow, Wednesday, 2 March, at the Legacy Family Tree Webinars website.

Saturday, 9 April, 1:30 p.m. EDT: The Downstate Delaware Genealogy Society is hosting the virtual presentation The Law and the Reasonably Exhaustive (Re)Search. Watch the society’s Events Page for an Eventbrite registration option if you’re not a member.

Tuesday, 12 April, 7 p.m. PDT/10 p.m. EDT: The Tacoma-Pierce Genealogical Society is hosting the virtual presentation NARA Mythbusters: Your Family IS in the Archives. Check the Events Calendar for more information.

Saturday, 16 April, 9 a.m.-3 p.m. CDT/10 a.m.-4 p.m. EDT: The Wisconsin Historical Society is hosting an all-day event On the Margins: Genealogy, The Law and Women, Children, and Minorities. The topics we’ll cover are (1) “Don’t Forget the Ladies – A Genealogist’s Guide to Women and the Law; (2) Breaker Boys and Spinner Girls: Child Labor Laws and their Records; (3) Deemed a Runaway – Black Laws of the North; and (4) To the Honorable, General Assembly–The Treasure Trove in Legislative Petitions. For more information, check the Event Details page, where registration will open shortly.

Saturday, 23 April, 9 a.m.-noon CDT/10 a.m.-1 p.m. EDT: The Rock Island County Illinois Genealogy Society is hosting its 50th anniversary mini virtual conference, with two presentations: Putting Those Records to Work and Where There Is – or Isn’t – a Will. Get more info and register at the RICIGS Virtual Genealogical Conference page.

Saturday, 30 April, 9 a.m.-4 p.m. PDT/noon-7 p.m. EDT: The Sonoma County Genealogical Society is hosting its 29th annual Spring Seminar in virtual format this year. The topics are (1) Putting Those Records to Work, (2) Advertising the Law: The Gems in the Legal Notices, (3) NARA Mythbusters: Your Family IS in the Archives, and (4) After the Courthouse Burns: Rekindling Family History through DNA. More information is on the seminar page; scroll down the page to the registration link.

Come on out and join us, virtually, for one or more of these events and note, in many cases, that registration will be free or at a reduced cost to members of the host society… There are some gooooooood reasons for joining genealogical societies… Just sayin’…


Cite/link to this post: Judy G. Russell, “Coming up: March-April,” The Legal Genealogist (https://www.legalgenealogist.com/blog : posted 1 Mar 2022).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email