Select Page

Upcoming presentations

The Legal Genealogist has a busy schedule coming up.

And I absolutely want to invite you along, to the extent possible, on the trip…

Here’s an overview of what’s coming up in February, and we’ll go ahead and take a peek at March.

Feb-Mar 2022

February 2022

Saturday, 5 February, 10:15 a.m. EST: The Florida Genealogical Society – Tampa is hosting the virtual presentation Staying Out of Trouble – The Rights and Responsibilities of Today’s Genealogists. Get more info here.

Tuesday, 8 February, 7 p.m. PST: The Qualicum Beach Family History Society in British Columbia is hosting the virtual presentation The Discriminating Genealogist: Telling Good Evidence from Bad. Get more information and register here.

Saturday, 12 February, 10:30 a.m. EST: The Genealogical Society of Sarasota (Florida) is hosting the virtual presentation NARA Mythbusters: Your Family IS in the National Archives. See this link for event info.

Saturday, 19 February, 1:30 pm CST: The Fellowship of Rotarian Genealogists is hosting the virtual presentation, DNA and the Golden Rule: The Law and Ethics of Genetic Genealogy. Check out the website if you’re a member.

Saturday, 26 February, 9 a.m.-4 p.m.: The Fayetteville (Arkansas) Public Library is kicking off its 2022 season with The Legal Genealogist as its 2022 genealogy keynote speaker and four virtual presentations: No Vitals? No Problem! Building a Family through Circumstantial Evidence; After the Courthouse Burns: Rekindling Family History through DNA; Deemed a Runaway: Black Laws of the North; and Where There is-or Isn’t-a Will. Get more information and register here.

March 2022

Thursday, 3 March, 7 p.m. CST /8 p.m. EST: The Town and Country Public Library (Elburn, Illinois) is hosting the virtual presentation “Don’t Forget the Ladies” – A Genealogist’s Guide to Women and the Law. Use this link for more information.

Saturday, 5 March, 10 a.m. CST / 11 a.m. EST: The Northland (Missouri) Genealogy Society is hosting the virtual presentation The Discriminating Genealogist: Telling Good Evidence from Bad. Get more info here.

Saturday, 19 March, 10 a.m. EDT: The Chester County (Pennsylvania) History Center is hosting the virtual presentation Don’t Forget the Ladies” – A Genealogist’s Guide to Women and the Law. Check the website for more information as the date gets closer.

Saturday, 19 March: The Family History Society of Arizona is hosting its all-day 2022 Genealogical Seminar and Annual Meeting. There are four speakers, including Brian Rhinehart, Annette Burke Lyttle, and Cari Taplin. My segment, the virtual presentation Doing Time-Prison Records as Genealogy Resources, is slated for 12:30 p.m. PDT / 3:30 p.m. EDT. Get more information and register here.

Wednesday, 23 March, 7 p.m. EDT (Thursday, 24 March, 9 a.m. AET): The Family History Academy, based in Australia but creating courses for genealogists throughout the English-speaking world, is offering my two-hour virtual workshop From Source to Proof: The Genealogical Proof Process and the Law. Fair warning: examples won’t all be from one country! Check out this link for more information.

Thursday, 24 March, 7 p.m. EDT: The Schenectady County (New York) Historical Society is hosting the virtual presentation Finding the Law–Tips for Genealogists. Get more info here.

Monday, 28 March, 7 p.m. EDT: The New Bern-Craven County (NC) Public Library is hosting the virtual presentation From 1619 to Juneteenth–Slavery & Law before Civ War. Register by emailing [email protected].

Come on out and join us, virtually, for one or more of these events.


Cite/link to this post: Judy G. Russell, “Coming up: February-March,” The Legal Genealogist (https://www.legalgenealogist.com/blog : posted 1 Feb 2022).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email