With wonderful workshops

You remember that conference we were all going to attend last month?

Yeah, that conference.

The National Genealogical Society conference.

In Salt Lake City, where one of the draws on top of a national conference is the Family History Library.

SighThe Legal Genealogist sure remembers. Because one of the things we can always count on whenever there’s a big genealogical party in Salt Lake City is a set of classes sponsiored by the Family History Library and FamilySearch that we can’t find anywhere else.

And I for one was looking forwarding to signing up for one of the amazing ethnic and international workshops that were going to be part of that conference.

And guess what?

We still can.

NGS workshops

And we can participate in the workshops from the comfort — and the safety — of our own homes.

Because, when NGS went virtual this year, FamilySearch and the FHL pivoted to virtual as well. So we have until July 7th — a week from now — to sign up for any of six two-hour international and ethnic workshops to help us with our research.

They’ll all be offered online, live. And the schedule is set so that we can even attend more than one if we want to.

Sigh again… and a blissful sigh this time.

Here’s the line-up:

Reading Italian Records Workshop
Tuesday, 14 July, 1 pm EDT, noon CDT, 11 am MDT, 10 am PDT
Brandon Baird, AG, helps us learn how to read through Italian civil registration records and church records. Remember you don’t have to speak it to read it! Fluency in Italian is not required.

Hispanic Research Methodology Workshop
Tuesday, 14 July 2020 at 3 pm EDT, 2 pm CDT, 1 pm MDT, noon PDT
Arturo Cuellar, AG and Lynn Turner, AG, will guide this workshop for beginners and will cover basic research guidelines, finding aids, and language helps, along with a case study.

Strategies for Locating German Records Workshop
Wednesday, 15 July 2020 at 3 pm EDT, 2 pm CDT, 1 pm MDT, noon PDT
Camille Andrus, AG, will direct those of us who’ve identified your ancestor’s hometown in Germany and are ready to research in German records. This workshop, for those beginning research in Germany, will help us identify what records are available, where they’re located, and how to use them effectively.

Swedish Research Strategy Workshop
Thursday, 16 July 2020 at 3 pm EDT, 2 pm CDT, 1 pm MDT, noon PDT
Geoff Morris, AG, helps us learn how to approach common problems and tackle them in an efficient way. Elements will include analysis, translation, records, and prioritizing research steps.

Ireland: Discovering Where and How They Lived Workshop
Friday, 17 July 2020 at 1 pm EDT, noon CDT, 11 am MDT, 10 am PDT
The team of Craig Foster, AG, Dan Poffenberger, AG, Kori Robbins, AG, and Phil Dunn, AG, will work with us in Ireland, known for difficult research. This workshop will help people understand Irish jurisdictions, as well as key record groups for Irish research.

Native American Workshop
Friday, 17 July 2020 at 3 pm EDT, 2 pm CDT, 1 pm MDT, noon PDT
Lyn Rasmussen, CG, Forrest Emmett, and Helen Bileen, will guide this Native American workshop, and will concentrate on using 20th century records as the foundation for researching Native American ancestry.

The cost for each workshop is a mere $35. The online team will include moderators and facilitators to keep things moving smoothly and help with the question-and-answer period.

For more information and to register, head on over to the NGS Conference website here.

It’s so nice to know this pandemic won’t stop us from going the course with our international research.

Now lemme see here… German, for sure, Irish maybe, and then…


Cite/link to this post: Judy G. Russell, “Going the course,” The Legal Genealogist (https://www.legalgenealogist.com/blog : posted 29 June 2020).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email