Get ready for genealogy’s winter camp

If you’re one of those whose schedules won’t allow you to attend any of the “summer camps for genealogists” — the week-long institutes in June and July offered by the Institute of Genealogy and Historical Research (IGHR) in Georgia or the Genealogical Research Institute of Pittsburgh (GRIP) — you may be looking longingly at the winter version: the Salt Lake Institute of Genealogy (SLIG) in January.

And the 2020 offerings are truly stellar, with 15 courses in the regular SLIG program from January 12-17, 2020, and another seven courses in what’s called SLIG Academy, aimed at genealogical professionals — and professional wannabes — from January 19-24, 2020, both at the Salt Lake Hilton.

With that many options, there really is something for everybody.

So… if this sounds like just what you’re looking for — here’s a big heads-up: registration opens Saturday — this Saturday — July 13th — at 9:00 am Mountain time (that’s 8 a.m. Pacific, 10 a.m. Central, 11 a.m. Eastern and whatever it is in the rest of the world) for the regular SLIG courses and at 2 p.m. Mountain time for the SLIG Academy courses (1 p.m. Pacific, 3 p.m. Central, 4 p.m. Eastern).

Some of those courses — including, of course, the one you want — are bound to fill up in minutes.

Because you need an account before you can register, you’ll need to read up on the registration process. For both SLIG and SLIG Academy, there’s a Registration FAQ and a separate Registration page. And there’s a Registration and Cancellation Policies page too.

SLIG 2020

But once you’ve done all that… there are some goodies that await.

The full descriptions of all SLIG course can be found here, but it surely won’t surprise you that the course The Legal Genealogist thinks you should take is Course 5, Corpus Juris: Advanced Legal Concepts for Genealogy.

Yep, that’s mine. It’s an in-depth course on law as it applies to genealogy where students work with legal records and sources — and even get a field trip to use resources at a major university law library. My team for the course includes LaBrenda Garrett-Nelson, JD, LLM, CG, CGL, Thomas W. Jones, CG, CGL, FASG, FUGA, FNGS, Rev. David McDonald, DMin, CG, George R. Ryskamp, JD, AG, and Richard G. Sayre, CG, CGL, FUGA.

Others that may fill your needs include:

Settlers in the New World and Immigrants to a New Nation: Colonial Times to 1900
Coordinator: John Philip Colletta, PhD, FUGA

Guide to Treasures Found in Federal Records
Coordinator: Michael L. Strauss, AG

Early US Church Records
Coordinator: Rev. David McDonald, DMin, CG

Advanced Research Tools: Land Records
Coordinators: Richard G. Sayre, CG, CGL, FUGA and Pamela Boyer Sayre, CG, FUGA

Virginia from the Colonial Period to the Civil War: Her Records, Her People, Her Laws
Coordinator: Barbara Vines Little, CG, FVGS, FNGS, FUGA

Maryland: Researching in the Old Line State
Coordinator: Debra A. Hoffman

Chinese Ancestry: Research Methods and Sources
Coordinator: Kelly Summers, MS, AG

Advanced Hispanic Research
Coordinator: George R. Ryskamp, JD, AG, FUGA and Deborah S. Gurtler, AG

Introduction to Genetic Genealogy
Coordinator: Paul Woodbury, MEd

Meeting Standards Using DNA Evidence — Research Strategies
Coordinator: Karen Stanbary, MA, LCSW, CG

Researching Like a Professional
Coordinator: Michael G. Hait, CG, CGL

Applying Standards to Appraise Genealogical Work
Coordinator: Jeanne Larzalere Bloom, CG

Advanced Genealogical Methods
Coordinator: Paul K. Graham, AG, CG, CGL

Technical Writing for Genealogists
Coordinator: Melissa A. Johnson, CG

And from SLIG Academy, described in more detail here, your choices are:

The Art of Writing Client Reports
Coordinator: Angela Packer McGhie, CG

You’re Invited: Public Speaking from Concept to Delivery
Coordinator: D. Joshua Taylor, MA, MLS

Building and Nurturing a Successful Genealogy Business
Coordinator: Jeanne Larzalere Bloom, CG

DNA for the 21st-Century Professional
Coordinator: Angie Bush, MS

Fundamentals of Forensic Genealogy
Coordinator: Catherine B. W. Desmarais, CG

Writing and Documenting for Peer Review
Coordinator: Karen Mauer Jones, CG, FGBS, FUGA

Project Management Essentials for the Professional Genealogist
Coordinator: Brent M. Hansen, DBA, PMP, IPMA-C

Again, registration for SLIG regular courses opens at 9 a.m. Mountain time and for SLIG Academy at 2 p.m. Mountain time.

Registration for SLIG regular courses is $595 ($545 for members of the Utah Genealogical Association. For the SLIG Academy courses, registration is $625 ($575 for members of the Utah Genealogical Association). Yes, you can join and get the member discount but you’ll need to do that in advance too.

Those attending a regular SLIG course also get another $50 discount on a SLIG Academy course but it won’t kick in unless you register for the regular course first. Room reservations at the Salt Lake Hilton should be handled through the UGA website to get a group discount. Special event registration is handled separately, independent of class registrations. See the info here.

But remember first and foremost, if you haven’t done so in the past, you will need to create a new registration account before registration opens. Don’t miss out on a course you want because you’re still filling out forms.

See you in Salt Lake City!


Cite/link to this post: Judy G. Russell, “SLIG 2020 registration opens Saturday,” The Legal Genealogist (https://www.legalgenealogist.com/blog : posted 8 July 2019).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email