You snooze, you lose

Wake up!

There isn’t a single moment to waste!

It’s down-to-the-wire-nail-biting-mouse-hand-warming-up-get-ready time.

Because tomorrow, Saturday, March 2nd, is the Big Day if you’re hoping to get in on an unparalleled opportunity for genealogical education and fun — otherwise known as summer camp for genealogists.

Tomorrow, Saturday, March 2nd, is registration day for the 2019 Institute of Genealogy and Historical Research (IGHR), in its third year at the University of Georgia in Athens, to be held July 21-26 this year.

IGHR 2019

The Legal Genealogist will be back at IGHR this summer, both learning and teaching (I’m the coordinator for the Advanced Methodology and Evidence Analysis course). And I hope to see a lot of friends — old and new — during the week.

But I’ll see you there only if you get up early tomorrow and get ready to register.

All IGHR class sizes are limited and REGISTRATION FILLS UP FAST. If you want to go, be prepared to start trying to register right when registration for the class you want opens and to keep trying. Note that Advanced Methodology and Evidence Analysis has prerequisites.

Course registration opens with a rolling schedule on Saturday, 2 March 2019. All registration times are ET (Eastern Time).

Registration links will be on the IGHR 2019 Courses page of the Georgia Genealogical Society IGHR website. If a course is full, go ahead and get on the course waiting list — cancellations do happen.

If you look at that IGHR 2019 Courses page right now, on the right hand side of each course is a column for registration. Right now it says when registration opens. When registration actually opens for that course, a yellow button will appear and you can begin the registration process. Each course title on that page is a link to the full course description.

Registration opens for each course at the following times:

Opening at 6:30 a.m. PST, 7:30 a.m. MST, 8:30 a.m. CST, 9:30 a.m. EST:

Course 1 — Methods and Sources, coordinated by Rebecca Whitman Koford, CG

Course 13 — The Five Civilized Tribes , coordinated by Anita Finger-Smith

Opening at 7 a.m. PST, 8 a.m. MST, 9 a.m. CST, 10 a.m. EST:

Course 5 — Genetics for Genealogists: Beginning DNA , coordinated by Patti Lee Hobbs, CG

Course 7 — Tracing Your English Ancestors , coordinated by Paul Milner, MDiv, FUGA

Opening at 7:30 a.m. PST, 8:30 a.m. MST, 9:30 a.m. CST, 10:30 a.m. EST:

Course 9 — Research in the South: Colonial States, coordinated by J. Mark Lowe, CG, FUGA

Opening at 8 a.m. PST, 9 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. CST, 11 a.m. EST:

Course 11 — Virginia’s Land and Military Conflicts , coordinated by Victor S. Dunn, CG

Course 12 — DNA as Genealogical Evidence (Advanced), coordinated by Blaine T. Bettinger, PhD, JD

Opening at 8:30 a.m. PST, 9:30 a.m. MST, 10:30 a.m. CST, 11:30 a.m. EST:

Course 3 — Advanced Methodology & Evidence Analysis, coordinated by Judy G. Russell, JD, CG, CGL

Course 4 — Writing & Publishing for Genealogists, coordinated by Thomas W. Jones, Ph.D., CG, CGL, FASG, FNGS, FUGA

Opening at 9 a.m. PST, 10 a.m. MST, 11 a.m. CST, noon EST:

Course 6 — Military Records 2, coordinated by Michael L. Strauss, AG

Course 10 — Building an African American Research Toolbox, coordinated by Timothy Pinnick, BS

Opening at 9:30 a.m. PST, 10:30 a.m. MST, 11:30 a.m. CST, 12:30 p.m. EST:

Course 2 — Intermediate Genealogy & Historical Studies , Intermediate Genealogy & Historical Studies

Course 8 — Land Records: Using Maps, coordinated by Melinda Kashuba, PhD

Tuition ($595.00 through May 15 and $620.00 thereafter) includes a reception on Sunday evening and evening meal on Thursday night. Georgia Genealogical Society (GGS) members get an additional discount, to $570, and you can join GGS and register for IGHR at the same time for $605 for an individual membership at $610 for a family membership. Make sure to enter the promotion code ERLYBRD19 at checkout if you’re not a GGS member, but do think about joining GGS if you have Georgia ancestors!! And do read through the Tuition and Payment and Refund Deadlines page before registration. Early Bird registration ends at 11:55 p.m. on Wednesday, 15 May 2019, but the GGS discount is applicable for the entire registration period. Course registration ends at 11:55 p.m. on Monday, 1 July 2019.

Much more info is available online at the IGHR website including frequently asked questions, and don’t hesitate to reach out to the IGHR GGS folks (“Questions about your registration should be sent to [email protected] or call (470) 466-2716”) if you run into problems.

But whatever you do… don’t sleep in tomorrow morning.

Hope to see you in Athens in July!


Cite/link to this post: Judy G. Russell, “IGHR 2019 registration tomorrow!,” The Legal Genealogist (https://www.legalgenealogist.com/blog : posted 1 March 2019).

Print Friendly, PDF & Email