You snooze, you lose

Wake up!

There isn’t a single moment to waste!

2018 alarm clockIt’s down-to-the-wire-nail-biting-mouse-hand-warming-up-get-ready time.

Because tomorrow, Saturday, January 13th, is the Big Day if you’re hoping to get in on an unparalleled opportunity for genealogical education and fun.

Tomorrow, Saturday, January 13th, is registration day for the 2018 Institute of Genealogy and Historical Research (IGHR), in its second year at the University of Georgia in Athens, to be held June 2-7 this year.

The Legal Genealogist will be back at IGHR this summer, both learning and teaching (I’m the coordinator for the Advanced Methodology and Evidence Analysis course). And I hope to see a lot of friends — old and new — during the week.

But I’ll see you there only if you get up early tomorrow and get ready to register.

All IGHR class sizes are limited and REGISTRATION FILLS UP FAST. If you want to go, be prepared to start trying to register right when registration for the class you want opens and to keep trying. Note that Advanced Methodology and Evidence Analysis has prerequisites.

Now… remember… this is only the second year for IGHR to be held at the University of Georgia and there have been some changes to the registration system in the hopes of making it work better. Here’s the way it’s supposed to work:

Registration links will be on the IGHR 2018 Courses page of the Georgia Genealogical Society IGHR website.

If you look at that page right now, on the right hand side of each course is a column for registration. Right now it says when registration opens. When registration actually opens for that course, a yellow button will appear and you can begin the registration process. Each course title on that page is a link to the full course description.

Registration opens for each course at the following times:

Opening at 7 a.m. PST, 8 a.m. MST, 9 a.m. CST, 10 a.m. EST:

Course 1 — Methods and Sources, coordinated by Rebecca Whitman Koford, CG

Course 5 — Advanced German Genealogy, coordinated by F. Warren Bittner, CG

Opening at 7:30 a.m. PST, 8:30 a.m. MST, 9:30 a.m. CST, 10:30 a.m. EST:

Course 2 — Intermediate Genealogy & Historical Studies, coordinated by Angela Packer McGhie, CG

Course 9 — Advanced Library Research: Law Libraries & Government Documents, coordinated by Benjamin B. Spratling III, J.D. and Patricia Walls Stamm, CG, CGL

Opening at 8 a.m. PST, 9 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. CST, 11 a.m. EST:

Course 3 — Advanced Methodology & Evidence Analysis, coordinated by Judy G. Russell, JD, CG, CGL

Opening at 8:30 a.m. PST, 9:30 a.m. MST, 10:30 a.m. CST, 11:30 a.m. EST:

Course 4 — Writing & Publishing for Genealogists, coordinated by Thomas W. Jones, Ph.D., CG, CGL, FASG, FNGS, FUGA

Course 8 — Military Records I, coordinated by Michael L. Strauss, AG

Opening at 9 a.m. PST, 10 a.m. MST, 11 a.m. CST, noon EST:

Course 6 — Research in the South: Trans-Mississippi South, coordinated by J. Mark Lowe, CG, FUGA

Course 11 — Genetic Genealogy Tools & Techniques: Intermediate DNA for Genealogy, coordinated by Karen Stanbary, M.A., CG

Opening at 9:30 a.m. PST, 10:30 a.m. MST, 11:30 a.m. CST, 12:30 p.m. EST:

Course 7 — Irish Genealogical Research, David E. Rencher, AG, CG, FIGRS, FUGA

Course 10 — Researching African-American Ancestors: Sources, Strategies, & Analysis, coordinated by Frazine K. Taylor, M.S.L.S., CPM

If you attended IGHR 2017, use the same login credentials that you used last year. If you’re new to IGHR, then use your preferred email address, for IGHR correspondence, as your Username in the New User area.

Tuition ($560.00 through March 10 and $600.00 thereafter) includes a reception on Saturday evening and evening meal on Wednesday night. GGS members get an additional $10.00 discount. The reception is an easy and convenient place to meet folks and visit with friends and colleagues and then, when ready, go eat or just go get ready for the start of classes on Sunday. The Wednesday dinner at the Georgia Center will be casual, to facilitate networking, learning and fun. There’s a discount for GGS members ($550.00), and you’ll be able to join GGS when you register (for $585.00 with an individual membership and $590.00 with a family membership).

Much more info is available online at the IGHR website including frequently asked questions.

And, remember, this is the only the second year for IGHR to be held at the University of Georgia, and the system hit some glitches last year. The big glitch: use of the Internet Explorer browser. If you have anything else available, use a different browser: Chrome, Firefox, Safari, the new Edge browser all work whereas IE caused problems.

So have some patience and understanding, and don’t hesitate to reach out to the IGHR GGS folks (“Questions about registration should be sent to [email protected]gensociety.org or call (470) 466-2716”) if you do run into problems.

But whatever you do… don’t sleep in tomorrow morning.

Hope to see you in Athens in June!

Print Friendly, PDF & Email