Select Page

You snooze, you lose

Wake up!

There isn’t a single moment to waste!

alarm-clockIt’s down-to-the-wire-nail-biting-mouse-hand-warming-up-get-ready time.

Because tomorrow, Friday, February 3rd, is the Big Day if you’re hoping to get in on an unparalleled opportunity for genealogical education and fun.

Tomorrow, Friday, February 3rd, is registration day for the 2017 Institute of Genealogy and Historical Research (IGHR) in its first, inaugural year, at the University of Georgia in Athens, July 23-28 this year.

The Legal Genealogist will be back at IGHR this summer, both learning and teaching (I’m the coordinator for the Advanced Methodology and Evidence Analysis course). And I hope to see a lot of friends — old and new — during the week.

But I’ll see you there only if you get up early tomorrow and get ready to register.

All IGHR class sizes are limited and REGISTRATION FILLS UP FAST. If you want to go, be prepared to start trying to register right when registration for the class you want opens and to keep trying. Note that Advanced Methodology and Evidence Analysis has prerequisites.

Now… remember… this is the first year for IGHR to be held at the University of Georgia and the first year for registration in what will be a new system. Here’s the way it’s supposed to work:

Registration links will be on the IGHR 2017 Courses page of the Georgia Genealogical Society IGHR website. If you look at that page right now, on the right hand side of each course is a column for registration. Right now it says when registration opens. When registration actually opens for that course, a yellow button will appear and you can begin the registration process.

Registration opens for each course at the following times:

Opening at 8 a.m. PST, 9 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. CST, 11 a.m. EST:

Course 1 – Methods and Sources, coordinated by Pamela Boyer Sayre, CG, CGL, FUGA

Course 11 – Genetics for Genealogists – Beginning DNA, coordinated by Debbie Wayne Parker, CG, CGL

Opening at 8:30 a.m. PST, 9:30 a.m. MST, 10:30 a.m. CST, 11:30 a.m. EST:

Course 2 – Intermediate Genealogy & Historical Studies, coordinated by Angela Packer McGhie, CG

Course 9 – Genealogy as a Profession, coordinated by Elissa Scalise Powell, CG, CGL

Opening at 9 a.m. PST, 10 a.m. MST, 11 a.m. CST, noon EST:

Course 3 – Advanced Methodology & Evidence Analysis, coordinated by Judy G. Russell, JD, CG, CGL

Opening at 9:30 a.m. PST, 10:30 a.m. MST, 11:30 a.m. CST, 12:30 p.m. EST:

Course 4 – Writing & Publishing for Genealogists, coordinated by Thomas W. Jones, Ph.D., CG, CGL, FASG, FNGS, FUGA

Course 8 – Understanding Land Records, coordinated by Richard G. Sayre, CG, CGL, FUGA

Opening at 10:00 a.m. PST, 11:00 a.m. MST, 12 noon CST, 1:00 p.m. EST:

Course 5 – Intermediate German Genealogy, coordinated by F. Warren Bittner

Course 6 – Research in the South, Part 2: Cessions & Territories, coordinated by J. Mark Lowe, CG, FUGA

Opening at 10:30 a.m. PST, 11:30 a.m. MST, 12:30 p.m. CST, 1:30 p.m. EST:

Course 7 – Scottish Genealogical Records, coordinated by Paul Milner

Course 10 – Virginia: Her Records & Her Laws, coordinated by Victor S. Dunn, CG

Tuition ($585 through April 1 and $625 thereafter) includes two evening meals. A low country boil will be held on Sunday evening after orientation. This event is designed to make it easy and convenient to meet folks, visit with friends and colleagues and then, when ready, go up to your hotel room and get ready for Monday morning. On Thursday evening, a barbecue will take place at the fabulous Russell Special Collections Library Building. It will be a casual function, designed to facilitate networking, learning and fun. There will be plenty of opportunity to explore the galleries that display contents ranging from historical politics to early media (UGA is the home of the Peabody Awards) and rare documents, prints and books.

Much more info is available online at the IGHR website.

And, remember, this is the first year for IGHR to be held at the University of Georgia, the first year for registration in this new system, the first year for a lot of things. There are bound to be some glitches. Have patience and understanding, please, and don’t hesitate to reach out to the IGHR GGS folks on the contact page (http://ighr.gagensociety.org/contact-us/ighr-registration) if you do run into problems.

So don’t sleep in tomorrow morning. Hope to see you in Athens in July!

Print Friendly