Select Page

Free webinar tomorrow

It’s a rare case where straightforward, simple, direct evidence gives us all the information we need to solve a genealogical puzzle.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABetween records that have been lost over time, records that were never created in the first place and records that are just plain wrong, we often find ourselves struggling to figure out our families and often overlook key clues in the information we’ve already gathered.

Learning how to make the most of our data, to use it effectively in research, is a critically important skill. So tune in tomorrow night with the Board for Certification of Genealogists for a free webinar that will offer step-by-step approaches to using inferential and analytic thinking to solve some of genealogy’s most perplexing problems.

Tomorrow, Tuesday, March 17, at 8 p.m. Eastern (7 p.m. Central, 6 p.m. Mountain, 5 p.m. Pacific), BCG’s free webinar series features James M. Baker, Ph.D., CG, in his presentation “Elementary, My Dear Watson! Solving Your Genealogy Puzzles with Clues You Already Have.” He’ll talk about how naming patterns, birth/marriage witness data, inheritance data, sibling research, timelines, family migrations and more can all contribute to a successful resolution to our problems.

A frequent presenter at local, regional, and national events, Jim earned a Ph.D. in sociology and social psychology from the University of Utah, and served as an adjunct member of the faculty at UCLA and USC. Now retired from an aerospace and business management career, he says his most fun job ever was being the “piano-man” at Shakey’s Pizza Parlor.

Jim became a Board-certified genealogist in 2011 and specializes in German, Midwest U.S., and early American research. He was an officer of the Sacramento German Genealogy Society (SGGS) and has contributed numerous articles to its quarterly, Der Blumenbaum. He also has written articles for the National Genealogical Society Quarterly and the National Genealogical Society (NGS) Magazine, in which he employed the problem-solving skills he’ll be demonstrating in the webinar.

So join us tomorrow and learn from Jim about solving genealogical puzzles with the clues you already have. The webinar series is free to all genealogists who want to improve their skills.

To register and receive your unique link to the webinar, head over to this post at SpringBoard, the BCG blog, and read down in the post there to the registration link.

We’re still working on making recordings of the BCG webinars available to those who can’t attend in real time; stay tuned at SpringBoard for updated information on that — and on announcements of future webinars in this free series.


CG or Certified Genealogist is a service mark of the Board for Certification of Genealogists, used under license by Board-certified genealogists after periodic competency evaluation, and the board name is registered in the US Patent & Trademark Office.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email