Select Page

Free webinar next week

One of the most challenging aspects of genealogical research is putting together all the bits and pieces of evidence we collect to reach a sound conclusion and to tell a compelling story.

Dealing with complex evidence is sometimes frustrating, but always pays off richly as it allows us to meet the Genealogical Proof Standard and ensure that the information we pass on to our families is right.

But how do we do it?

Tune in with the Board for Certification of Genealogists next week in a free webinar to find out!

BittnerTuesday, February 24, at 8 p.m. Eastern (7 p.m. Central, 6 p.m. Mountain, 5 p.m. Pacific), BCG resumes its free webinar series as F. Warren Bittner, CG, presents “Complex Evidence: What it Is, How it Works, Why it Matters.”

As Warren notes, the genealogist’s goal is to establish identity and prove relationships. Complex evidence is often the only way to do this. In his presentation, we’ll be able to follow a case study of clues from multiple sources to solve a problem, learning more about the process along the way.

For those who may not be familiar with Warren, The Legal Genealogist can assure you that you’re in for a treat. He was a classmate of mine in Elizabeth Shown Mills’ Advanced Methodology and Evidence Analysis course at the Institute of Genealogy and Historical Research at Samford University in 2010, and I’ve heard Warren speak many times at national conferences and institutes.

Not only is Warren a great speaker who blends good stories with some wonderfully useful facts but he knows how to speak in plain clear terms that make it easy to follow the trail and learn how to repeat it yourself.

So join us next week and learn from Warren about complex evidence and how to use it in your genealogical research. The webinar series is free to all genealogists who want to improve their skills.

To register and receive your unique link to the webinar, head over to this post at SpringBoard, the BCG blog, and read down in the post there to the registration link.

We’re still working on making recordings of the BCG webinars available to those who can’t attend in real time; stay tuned at SpringBoard for updated information on that — and on announcements of future webinars in this free series.


CG or Certified Genealogist is a service mark of the Board for Certification of Genealogists, used under license by Board-certified genealogists after periodic competency evaluation, and the board name is registered in the US Patent & Trademark Office.

Print Friendly