Select Page

You snooze, you lose

It’s that time of year again. Time to set the alarm, warm up the mouse hand and get ready. Because if you don’t move fast at a designated time tomorrow, the 20th of January, you’re going to lose out on one of the best educational opportunities genealogy has to offer.

It’s time for registration for the 2015 Institute of Genealogy and Historical Research (IGHR) at Samford University, Birmingham, Alabama, June 7-12 this year.

I don’t know anyone who’s ever been to IGHR who hasn’t come away thinking it was a wonderful experience. I’ve had the great good fortune to have completed the courses in Advanced Methodology and Evidence Analysis; Writing and Publishing for Genealogists; Researching African-American Ancestors; and Research in the South last year.

I’ll be back at Samford this summer, both learning and teaching (I’m the coordinator for the newly revised Advanced Methodology and Evidence Analysis course). And I hope to see a lot of friends — old and new — during the week.

But I’ll see you there only if you get up early tomorrow and get ready to register.

All IGHR class sizes are limited and REGISTRATION FILLS UP FAST. If you want to go, be prepared to start trying to register right when registration for the class you want opens and to keep trying. Note that Advanced Methodology and Evidence Analysis has prerequisites and all students will be housed off-campus this year.

Here are the registration times:

Opening at 8 a.m. PST, 9 a.m. MST, 10 a.m. CST, 11 a.m. EST:

Course 3: Advanced Methodology & Evidence Analysis
Course 9: Genealogy as a Profession

Opening at 8:30 a.m. PST, 9:30 a.m. MST, 10:30 a.m. CST, 11:30 a.m. EST:

Course 4: Writing & Publishing for Genealogists
Course 6: The Five Civilized Tribes: The Records & Where to Find Them

Opening at 9 a.m. PST, 10 a.m. MST, 11 a.m. CST, noon EST:

Course 8: Research in the South: The Colonies of the South
Course 10: Virginia’s Land & Military Conflicts

Opening at 9:30 a.m. PST, 10:30 a.m. MST, 11:30 a.m. CST, 12:30 p.m. EST:

Course 2: Intermediate Genealogy & Historical Studies
Course 7: Land Records: Using Maps

Opening at 10:00 a.m. PST, 11:00 a.m. MST, noon CST, 1:00 p.m. EST:

Course 1: Methods and Sources
Course 5: Military Records II

The IGHR 101 page has been updated with brand-new video guides on how to register as well as how to submit a course wait list request. There’s a downloadable guide to registration available online so you can understand the process in advance and be ready to go. Fill out the info ahead of time and then copy/paste into the appropriate fields as you go through the registration process.

Much more info is available online at the IGHR website generally, through a special IGHR 101 page, and there’s an online guide What is IGHR? there as well.

So don’t sleep in tomorrow morning. Hope to see you in Birmingham in June!

Print Friendly