Select Page

APG webinar: Terms of use

Seats are filling up fast for Wednesday’s webinar on website terms of use — the rules that govern what we can do on a website, how we can use it, and what the site can do with what we contribute.

termsSponsored by the Association of Professional Genealogists and offered free as a service to the genealogical community, The Legal Genealogist‘s focus in this webinar will be on website terms and conditions.

Those terms of use, remember, are “the limits somebody who owns something you want to see or copy or use puts on whether or not he’ll let you see or copy or use it. These are limits that are different from copyright protection, since the law says what is and isn’t copyrighted and you can own a thing without owning the copyright. So this isn’t copyright law; it’s contract law — you and whoever owns the thing you want to see or copy or use reach a deal.”1

It’s slated for this Wednesday, December 11, at 9 p.m. EST (8 p.m. CST, 7 p.m. MST and 6 p.m. PST), and though it’s free, you need to register to attend so reserve your webinar seat now at:

https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/460655793

Here’s the official info from APG on next week’s webinar:

“Terms and conditions may apply” — Contract Law and the Internet

Websites have fine print too. And it’s the fine print that answers questions like: Why can I use this newspaper clipping from this service, and not that clipping from that service? What happens if I allow someone else to use my account on that website? If I get into a dispute with a genealogical service provider, can I sue them? This webinar will review the basics of website terms and conditions (“terms of use” or “terms of service”) and what they mean for the genealogist.

After Wednesday, the recording of this webinar — like all recordings of the APG webinars — will be available to APG members only. So be sure to reserve your seat now for this December 11 webinar. Better yet, join APG and get access to this and all the recorded webinars in the APG series — plus a whole lot more in member benefits!


SOURCES

  1. Judy G. Russell, “A terms of use intro,” The Legal Genealogist, posted 27 Apr 2012 (http://www.legalgenealogist.com/blog : accessed 1 Dec 2013).
Print Friendly, PDF & Email